The Day After… 

“Donald J Trump is not your worst enemy. Your mind is your worst enemy. Your fear is your worst enemy. Your imagination is your worst enemy.”

Copyright: someone I’m sure….

When I started this blog,  I promised myself that I would not write sappy, sentimental, carpe diem nonsense posts. I am not going to keep that promise. After seeing some of the anguish on my Facebook feed, and all the craziness in Washington, I decided that instead of the typical snarky tone that most are taking, it was time to write something cliché filled and uplifting. Because really folks, it’s going to be okay. 
Eight years ago, I was a 24 year old neocon. To me, Obama was going to be the end of the world as we knew it. I remember being disgusted at the fawning and tearful worship of a truly evil man who was elected based on his charisma, not his character or experience. I remember thinking this man was ignorant of economics, and wanted all the bad people to defeat us. I remember the punch to my gut when the candidate “my side” had run lost. I felt sick. I felt sad. I felt defeated and alone. It was a scary moment, because to my mind there was no telling what damage would be done.

The second time he was elected I did what any adult does when feeling defeated; I drank myself to sleep, got up the next morning, and went to work. I had learned that it did not matter what the man in the White House was doing. What mattered was what I did every day in my own life to get by and grow. Yes, it hurt to watch him sworn in again, but it was not the end of my world.

I know the feeling so many people are feeling today. You will get through it. You will realize that you listened to the nonsense of the media and pundits. You will realize that most of what goes on in the upper echelons of power really does not affect you in the short term. One man does not have the power that you ascribe to him.

Four years or eight years from now you will still be alive and if you are not it is not likely your death has anything to do with the man in the White House. Your freedom is likely to be less, but it was going to be less regardless of who had won. 

This is American politics. Both sides are going to promise utopia to you. Both sides are going to say the other side is the evil incarnate and will probably kill you in your sleep. Both sides will disappoint you. Both sides will fail you. 

Here is what you do when you get gut punched by politics. You get up every day and do what you have always done. Go to work. Play with your kids. Love your spouse. Make plans and work for them. Don’t expect salvation from the government. Again, don’t expect salvation from the government. Don’t expect the government to save you, and don’t expect the politicians to save you from the government. 

Eight years after Obama’s ascent to the throne, here I am, eight years older, still alive, and better off. I’m better off not because of politicians, but because of hard work and experience. I assure you, Donald J Trump is not your worst enemy. Your mind is your worst enemy. Your fear is your worst enemy. Your imagination is your worst enemy. The voices of a thousand liars talking at you from screens and speakers are your worst enemies. 

Shut them out. Speak truth to yourself. Don’t let the hype kill your dreams. Don’t let your worst imaginations crush your work ethic. Don’t let fear paralyze your growth. Don’t let the talking points of one man or a thousand supporters stop you from living your life.

Get up. Get to work. Make the world a better place because you are in it. Stop seeking your salvation in a system designed to disappoint you. 

You got this. 

Author: driptorchpress

Hey, my name is Jon. I'm a married father of five crazy kids. I write about family and marriage, politics, music, art, and pretty much anything else I want to. I hope you enjoy my page as much as I enjoy writing on it. If you like what you read, be sure to "Like" and share my Facebook Page for more good stuff. https://www.facebook.com/DripTorchPress/

One thought on “The Day After… ”

Leave a Reply

